Literacy, Reading, Dyslexia and ELA

Reading Improvement Plan / Literacy Plan K-12

The implementation of our district Reading & Literacy program in grades K-12 is an ongoing process with an end in mind; our students meet the goal of Ohio’s strategic plan Each Child, Our Future” which aims to ensure every child is challenged, prepared, and empowered to become a resilient, lifelong learner who contributes to society. It is aligned with OHIO’S PLAN TO RAISE LITERACY ACHIEVEMENT.

Ohio's definition of early literacy includes a continuum of literacy development that spans birth through grade three. This continuum begins with the development of receptive language and expressive language. By the end of third grade, literacy development culminates in the attainment of fluency and comprehension of text, as well as the ability to use writing to communicate and compose narrative or expository text. We are working to assure that all our students leave third grade proficient or above in reading as defined in Ohio’s standards and assessments.

The standards insist that instruction in reading, writing, speaking, listening, and language be a shared responsibility within the school. The K-5 standards include expectations for reading, writing, speaking, listening, and language applicable to a range of subjects, including, but not limited to, English language arts (ELA). The grades 6-12 standards are divided into two sections, one for ELA and the other for history/social studies, science, and technical subjects. This division reflects the unique, time-honored place of ELA teachers in developing students’ literacy skills while at the same time recognizing that teachers in other areas must have roles in this development as well.

Ohio’s Learning Standards

Ohio has developed high-quality learning standards aligned across grades that define what learners should know and be able to do. These include:

  • Early Learning and Development Standards (birth to kindergarten entry);

  • Ohio’s Learning Standards (kindergarten-grade 12, including standards for literacy in history and social studies, science and technical subjects for grades 6-12).

  • Ohio English Language Proficiency Standards.

  • Ohio’s Learning Standards Extended for learners with significant cognitive disabilities; and

  • Ohio’s K-12 Social and Emotional Learning Standards.

Ohio’s System of Assessments

Ohio has developed a standards-aligned system of assessments that measures language and literacy development and outcomes using the following:

  • Early Learning Assessment for preschool-age children.

  • Kindergarten Readiness Assessment for learners entering kindergarten.

  • K-3 reading diagnostic assessments used to screen students in kindergarten-grade 3 for reading difficulties.

  • Ohio’s State Tests in English Language Arts for grades 3-8; and

  • High school end-of-course exams in English language arts.

Subsequently, after grade 3 students will progress in reading consistent with Ohio’s standards and assessments culminating in High School where students will demonstrate the ability to read, write and think effectively with the goal of becoming positive contributors to society. Students will acquire an extensive vocabulary through reading, discussion, listening, and word study. Students will be college and career ready in literacy by the end of high school. In grades 6-12 the Standards for Literacy in History/Social Studies, Science, and Technical Subjects and Writing Standards for Literacy in History/Social Studies, Science, and Technical Subjects are implemented.

If Ohio's standards are implemented with integrity students will:

  • Demonstrate Independence

  • Have strong content knowledge

  • Respond to the varying demands of audience, task, purpose, and discipline

  • Comprehend as well as critique

  • Value evidence

  • Use technology and digital media strategically and capably

  • Understand other perspectives and cultures

Students in grade K-12 will meet the standards for their grade level in each of the following Strands: Reading for Literature / Reading for Information / Reading Foundations / Writing / Speaking and Listening / Language

Ohio's Dyslexia Guidebook and Law
Regarding Screening and Intervention

The 133rd Ohio General Assembly passed legislation concerning the screening of and intervention for children with dyslexia, effective April 12, 2021. Ohio’s dyslexia support laws (ORC 3323.25, 3323.251, 3319.077 and 3319.078) established requirements for the formation of the Ohio Dyslexia Committee, teacher professional development for identifying dyslexia and instructing students with dyslexia, dyslexia screening measures and a structured literacy certification process for teachers. The primary charge of the Ohio Dyslexia Committee was to develop this document, the Ohio Dyslexia Guidebook, regarding the recommended best practices and methods for universal screening, intervention and remediation for children with dyslexia or children displaying dyslexic characteristics and tendencies using a structured literacy program, as required by Ohio’s dyslexia support laws (ORC 3323.25). The guidebook outlines several recommended best practices to consider when implementing the legal requirements of screening, intervention and remediation

Although the focus of Ohio’s dyslexia support laws and this guidebook center on screening, intervention and remediation procedures, the guidebook additionally highlights that, as best practice, alignment among all levels of instruction that incorporate a structured literacy approach will reinforce the learning process for children with dyslexia or dyslexic characteristics and tendencies. The Ohio Dyslexia Guidebook is structured to directly reflect the obligations of the Ohio Dyslexia Committee and the dyslexia support laws.

  • Section 1 explains best practices in literacy instruction.

  • Section 2 details the methods for screening and progress monitoring to meet legal requirements.

  • Section 3 describes methods for intervention and remediation with meeting legal requirements.

  • Section 4 outlines a structured literacy certification process to support districts to meet legal requirements.